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Purchasing a Manufactured Home —

Licensing and Bonding of Dealers and

Manufacturers

Manufactured home dealers must have a license, surety bond, Manufactured home
and liability insurance. The license must be prominently displayed on dealers must have a
the premises. Banks, savings and loans associations, real estate brokers, and license, surety bond,
businesses that repossess manufactured homes are not required to have a and liability insurance.

license or a bond.

The Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry licenses entities
that meet the application, bond, and insurance requirements. Certificates
are issued by the Commissioner to anyone who is granted a license. The
Commissioner may deny, suspend, or revoke any license if the licensee or any

of its directors, officers, general partners, or affiliates violates applicable law.

Warranties

Every new manufactured home sold in Minnesota has an implied
warranty that the home conforms to applicable federal and state
laws. Every new manufactured home also has an implied warranty of
merchantability and fitness for permanent housing in Minnesota’s climate.
Manufacturers or dealers may also make express warranties on a manufactured

home, but they cannot limit any implied warranties.

Warranties are valid for one year from the date the new home is delivered to
the consumer. When a homeowner wants to make a claim covered by either
an express or implied warranty, the homeowner must notify the dealer, or the
manufacturer, within a reasonable time after discovering the problem, but no
later than 90 days after the expiration of the warranty. Either the manufacturer
or the dealer, or both of them working together, must repair the manufactured
home at its site within a reasonable amount of time after receiving notice from

the owner.

Building Codes

Minnesota law states that a person may not sell or install for occupancy a
used manufactured home, manufactured after June 14, 1976, unless the used
manufactured home complies with the Notice of Compliance Form required
by law. The Notice of Compliance Form must be signed by the seller and
purchaser, indicate which party is responsible for either making or paying for

any necessary corrections prior to the sale and transferring ownership of the
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manufactured home, and must be substantially in the format as found on the

Notice of Compliance Form on pages 36 and 37 at the back of this publication.

It is a misdemeanor to alter a certified manufactured home manufactured after
June 14, 1976, so that it violates building codes. It is also a misdemeanor to
install a manufactured home at a site of occupancy which does not comply
with applicable Minnesota statutes or with the manufactured home installation

rules, Minnesota Rules chapter 1350.

The Commissioner of the Department of Labor and Industry enforces the
manufactured home installation rules. The Commissioner may:
*  Charge reasonable fees for inspections, seals, and other enforcement
costs.
* Adopt rules governing the installation of manufactured homes.
*  Adopt rules governing the construction, installation, and certification
of manufactured home accessory structures (this means any factory-
built building or structure that is an addition or supplement to a

manufactured home).

A person who fails to correct a Manufactured Home Building Code violation
within 40 days of being ordered to do so is guilty of a misdemeanor.
Additionally, anyone who violates any of these laws is liable to the State
of Minnesota for a monetary penalty up to $1,000 for each violation, not to
exceed $1,000,000.

Tire and Axle Scam

Often companies will go through a manufactured home park offering to buy
tires and axles from residents. A resident should be careful, because it may be
illegal to sell them. It could also create problems, such as moving the home in
the future or buying replacements. Finally, there is a chance that the company

will move on and leave the resident without compensation or goods.



Duties of the Park Owner
and Manager

Park owners and their designated managers must perform specific

duties required by state law. Duties include being licensed, complying

with state law and local ordinances, and properly maintaining the park.

License
A manufactured home park owner must have a license from the Minnesota
Department of Health. This license must be conspicuously displayed in the

office of the manufactured home park.

A park owner or manager must apply for this license and the Department of
Health must inspect the manufactured home park and grant a license if all

requirements are met.

If the Commissioner of the Department of Health denies a license application,
the park owner or manager may appeal the decision. The person who is
appealing the decision must request a hearing by notifying the Commissioner

within 20 days after receipt of notice of the proposed denial of the license.

Compliance with Health Regulations

The Department of Health has adopted rules governing manufactured home
parks, Minnesota Rules chapter 4630. The Department of Health has the
authority to enforce these rules and related statutes according to the Health
Enforcement Consolidation Act. If a person is injured, or threatened
with injury because a health or safety rule is violated, the
person may contact the Department of Health to file a complaint.
The Department of Health can require the park to comply, or assist the park

in correcting the violation. An injured person may also file a private lawsuit.

Attendant

An owner or attendant must maintain the park, facilities, and equipment. If
the park contains more than 50 lots, the park owner or the attendant must be

available at all times in case of emergency.

Storm Shelters and Evacuation
Storm shelters or evacuation plans provide residents with access to safe shelter
in cases of bad weather. Storm shelter plans vary depending on the size of a

park and when the park was originally licensed.

If a person is injured,
or threatened with
injury because a
health or safety rule
is violated, the person
may contact the
Department of Health

to file a complaint.
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Parks with fewer than ten homes must provide either a shelter on the premises
or a plan for evacuation to a nearby shelter. The plan or shelter should be

developed with the assistance and approval of the park’s local municipality.

Parks with ten or more homes, licensed prior to March 1, 1988, must provide
either a shelter on the premises or evacuation plans to a storm shelter close to
the park. The shelter or evacuation plan must have been approved by the park’s
local municipality by March 1, 1989, and a copy submitted to the Department
of Health. The park owner must give all residents a copy of the evacuation or
shelter plan. Parks with ten or more homes, licensed after March 1, 1988, must

provide a storm shelter within the park.

Shelters constructed after March 1, 1988, must comply with the state building
code. The Department of Labor and Industry enforces the state’s building
code and has jurisdiction over the proper construction of storm shelters. The
Department of Health has jurisdiction over whether the shelter or shelter plan
is adequate to meet the needs of park residents. Page 26 of this brochure lists

contact information for these departments.

Drains, Water Supply, and Lots
Manufactured home parks must be well drained and have an adequate supply
of safe water. The park must make sure homes are properly placed within the

park, and the lots are divided correctly.

Tenant’'s Remedies

Residents of a manufactured home park are generally afforded the rights
of residential tenants under Minnesota law. Likewise, residents in a
manufactured home park may form a “resident association,”
which is organized for the purpose of resolving matters relating to
living conditions in the manufactured home park.

In most situations, a tenant or resident association may request that the
Minnesota Department of Health conduct an inspection for code violations.
Thereafter, the inspector must notify the tenant or resident association in
writing of any code violations, and provide the park with a reasonable period
of time to correct the violations. If the violations are not corrected, a tenant or
resident association may bring an action in district court in the county where
the violation exists. The owner must be informed in writing at least 14 days
before the tenant or resident association may take action. In general, the issues
raised in the complaint will be heard by a court without a jury approximately

7 to 14 days after the action has been filed. If the court finds that a violation has



not been remedied, the court may issue an order requiring corrective action, as
well as including a judgment against the owner for reasonable attorney’s fees,
not to exceed $500.

If the violation is a case of emergency (i.e., loss of running water, hot water,
heat, electricity, sanitary facilities, or other essential services), then a resident
or resident association can file an emergency relief proceeding. The resident
or resident association must make reasonable efforts to notify the owner of the

emergency relief proceeding at least 24 hours in advance.

Rental Agreements

Requirements of a Rental Agreement
The lease, or rental agreement, is the contract between the park owner and the
resident. Leases are always negotiable. But, remember, any negotiations must

take place before the lease is signed by either party.

A copy of the rental agreement, the notice required by state
law, and the written procedures and criteria used to evaluate a
prospective tenant, must be given to an applicant to review before
the applicant is asked to sign them. (Text of the required notice can be
found on page 35.) The notice required by state law must also be posted in a

conspicuous and public location in the park.

A rental agreement must meet the following criteria:
e It must be in writing.
e It must be signed by the resident and the park owner or the owner’s
designated person.
* It must specify the terms and conditions of the rental of the lot,
including:

. The location of the lot and its address or site number;

e The amount of rent per month and a statement of all personal
property, services, and facilities that the park owner agrees to
provide to the resident;

. The rights, duties, and obligations of the parties, and all rules
applicable to the resident;

e The amount of any security deposit or other financial obligation
imposed on the resident by the park owner; and

*  The name of any person holding a security interest in the

resident’s home.

Park owners are required to give each resident a signed copy of the rental

agreement.

A copy of the rental
agreement, the notice
required by state

law, and the written
procedures and criteria
used to evaluate a
prospective tenant,
must be given to an

applicant to review

before the applicant is
asked to sign them.
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Serving Notice
When a park owner must give notice to residents, the following are considered
“proper notice”:

e Personal service.

*  Mailing the notice to the last known mailing address of the resident.

*  Delivering the notice to the resident’s home. (The notice must be left
with someone of suitable age and discretion, or placed in a secure and
conspicuous location at the home.)

* Sending certified mail. (This is effective even if the resident refuses

delivery.)

Park Rules

A park “rule” is any A park “rule” is any rental agreement provision, regulation, rule,
rental agreement or policy established by a park owner to control or affect the

provision, regulation, behavior of residents. There are proper rules and unreasonable
rule, or policy rules:

established by a park
owner to control or Proper Rules

affect the behavior Under Minnesota law, park leases, rules, and regulations must:
of residents. There e Be written in plain language.
are proper rules and * Bereasonable. A “reasonable rule” is one that:
unreasonable rules. . Promotes the convenience and safety of the residents. It also
promotes the good appearance and efficient operation of the
park, protects the park premises, and fairly distributes services
and facilities.
*  Relates to the purpose for which it is adopted.
e Isnot retaliatory or discriminatory in nature.

e Informs residents of acceptable and unacceptable behavior.

Unreasonable Rules
Unreasonable rules are not allowed. Unreasonable rules include (but are not
limited to) the following:
*  Prohibiting a resident from putting a reasonably-sized “for sale” sign
on their home.
* Requiring a resident to use the services of a particular dealer or broker
for an in-park sale.
* Requiring a resident or prospective resident to buy goods or services
from a particular vendor—including the park owner.
OFFICE OF THE MINNESOTA * Requiring more than one occupant of a home to have an ownership

ATTORNEY GENERAL . .
o = interest in that home.
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Changes to Park Rules

A park can change or modify its rules, but the law requires that:

* The park give residents 60 days written notice before the A park must give
changes take effect. residents 60 days
»  All changes be reasonable. before changing or

*  Any new rule that “substantially modifies” previous policies can only modifying its rules.

be enforced against new residents.

Substantial Modifications to Park Rules
A substantial modification is a rule change that:
* Significantly diminishes or eliminates the park owner’s material
obligations.
*  Significantly limits residents’ rights, privileges, or freedom of action.

* Involves a significant new expense for a resident.

If a new rule does not “substantially modify” a rule that was in effect when a

resident signed a lease, the new rule is enforceable.

The following rule change is an example of a substantial modification:

* A security deposit increase.

The following are examples of rule changes that are not substantial
modifications:

e A reasonable rent increase with 60 days written notice and no more
than two rent increases in 12 months. (A reasonable rent increase is
not a “rule” by definition.)

e Arule change required by government action.

* A rule change requiring all residents to maintain their homes, sheds,
and other property in good repair and safe condition.

e Arule change requiring total replacement of a resident’s home, shed,
or other property if repair is impractical, and total replacement is

necessary.

A park may attempt to evict a resident for violating a new or amended rule.
A court may consider the following factors when deciding if a new rule is a
substantial modification or not:
* Any new circumstances that have occurred since the original rule was
adopted that make a rule change necessary.

*  Any new benefits that residents receive because of the rule change.

MANUFACTURED
HOME PARKS
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or employees
may only enter a
resident’s home
to respond to an
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prevent damage to
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If a court finds the rule reasonable, and not a substantial modification of the
original agreement, the court will order the resident to comply with the rule
within ten days. If the resident does not comply, or violates the rule again, the

resident may be evicted. (See page 14 for eviction information.)

lllegal Rules
Parks cannot make rules that unreasonably conflict with the following rights

of residents:

Privacy of a Resident’'s Home

A park’s owner or employees may only enter a resident’s
home to respond to an emergency or to prevent damage to the
manufactured home park.

The park owner or employees may come onto a manufactured home park
rental lot to inspect the lot, to supply necessary or agreed upon goods, services,
or repairs, or to show the lot to buyers, residents, workers, contractors, or

mortgagees.

Except in the case of an emergency, the park owner or employees
cannot come onto a lot at unreasonable times, or in a way that
unreasonably disrupts the resident’s use and enjoyment of the lot.

Guests and Additions to a Household
The park cannot require a resident to pay a fee for guests or additions to the
household.

The park can set reasonable limits on the number of people who may
permanently live in a manufactured home if the limit is reasonably related to

the home’s size and the number of rooms it contains.

Freedom of Expression

The park cannot prohibit a resident or anyone else from peacefully organizing,
assembling, canvassing, or distributing leaflets in the park for non-commercial
purposes. But, just like a municipality, the park can set reasonable limits on
the time, place, and manner of these activities. Also, the park can prohibit

commercial activities in the park, such as selling products door-to-door.



Fees

lllegal Fees
The park cannot charge any fees based on:
*  The number or age of the people who are living or staying with a
resident.
e The type of personal property, such as a washer or dryer, that a home
contains.
e The size of a home.

e The fact that a home is temporarily vacant.

The law does not prevent a park owner from reducing or eliminating the rent

for a resident with special needs.

Legal Fees

Manufactured home parks may charge the following fees:

Rental fees
The park may charge a basic lot rental fee that is the same for all park
households. The park is allowed to charge extra for:

e Alarger lot.

e Abetter location.

*  Special services or facilities provided by the park.

» Each pet a resident owns. (Up to $4 per month may be charged per

pet.)
* Late rent, if this is specified in the rental agreement.

The park must give residents 60 days written notice of any rent
increase. The park cannot increase the rent more than twice in
12 months. Also, a rent increase is not valid if its purpose is to pay civil
or criminal penalties imposed on the park owner by a court or government

agency.

Security Deposits

The park may require a security deposit of up to two months’ rent. By giving
this deposit to the owner, the resident is providing a guarantee that the resident
will comply with the rental agreement. The deposit also protects the park
owner from damage caused by the resident, including damage that may occur
during installation or removal of the home. After the original security deposit
is agreed upon, the security deposit may not be increased. This would be a
substantial modification of the original rental agreement and would not be

enforceable.

The park must give
residents 60 days

written notice of any

rent increase. The
park cannot increase
the rent more than
twice in 12 months.
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When a resident moves, the resident must leave a forwarding address with
the park. The park has 21 days to return the resident’s entire deposit, plus one
percent interest, or send the resident a letter explaining why some, or all, of the

security deposit is being withheld.

The park may keep all or part of a resident’s security deposit if the resident has
not paid some of the rent owed or has damaged park property. If the resident
does not agree with the park’s reason for keeping the deposit, the resident
may sue the park owner in Conciliation Court to recover the money. (The
Minnesota Attorney General’s Office publishes a free guide titled Conciliation
Court: A User’s Guide to Small Claims Court. Contact the Office to order a
copy.) In court, the park owner must justify withholding the security deposit.

If the judge decides the owner knew it was wrong to withhold the money
(called acting in “bad faith”), then the resident may be awarded the amount
withheld, plus damages up to the amount withheld and up to $500 in additional

other damages.

If a park owner does not provide a written explanation for keeping the deposit,
then the deposit must be returned to the resident within two weeks after the
resident has filed a complaint in court or the court will presume the owner is

acting in “bad faith.”

The law does not allow residents to use their security deposit to pay rent.
Those residents who do may be taken to court and may have to pay the park
owner the amount of rent withheld plus a penalty. However, before the park
owner can take a resident to court, the owner must give the resident a written

demand for the rent and a notice that it is illegal to withhold it.

Utility Fees

The park may charge residents for utility services that the park
provides. A “utility service” is defined as any electric, fuel oil, natural or
propane gas, sewer, waste disposal, or water service. Unless the park owner
has installed measuring devices that accurately meter each household’s use
of a utility, the park has to charge each household the same amount for the

service.

Under Minnesota law, if a park owner provides a utility service, the park owner
may charge no more than:
*  The rate the resident could pay directly for the same utility service in
that market area; or
e The rate charged within the same market area to single family

dwellings.



There is one exception regarding electricity. I[f a park owner provides electricity
to residents by reselling electricity purchased from a public or municipal utility
or electrical cooperative, and would lose money by following rate guidelines,

the park owner may charge a higher rate.

This exception allows the park owner to bill residents at a rate that allows the
park owner to break even. However, the park owner may only charge residents
the actual amount billed by the public utility or utility cooperative. Residents

may not be billed for administrative, capital or other costs.

Installation and Removal Fees

The park may provide and charge for home installation and removal services.
The park cannot require a resident to use these services unless the park offers
them for free. If a resident hires the park to install or remove the resident’s

home, the contract for this service must be in writing.

Maintenance Fees

The park can charge a resident for a resident’s lot maintenance if
the work is required by the lease, park rules, or state or local law,
and the resident does not do the work.

The park owner may do the maintenance and charge the resident a reasonable
cost, plus a fee of up to $10, if:

* Before doing the work, the park gives the resident written notice
explaining what work needs to be done, why, and a deadline. The
notice must explain that if the resident does not do the work by the
deadline, the park will do the work and send the resident a written
notice of the charge.

* Failure to do the required maintenance endangers park facilities or
other residents. In this case the park owner may give the resident a
written notice requiring immediate compliance. If delivery of the
notice would be impractical or useless, the park owner may skip the
written notice and charge the resident the reasonable cost of the work.
The park owner has the same right to collect these charges as the

owner has to collect rent owed by the resident.

A written notice for work done by the park must include:
e The work performed.
*  The date the work was done.
*  The total cost and the way in which this cost was computed.
e The deadline for the resident’s payment (this cannot be less than 30

days after the notice is sent).

The park can charge a
resident for a resident’s
lot maintenance if the

work is required by the

lease, park rules, or
state or local law, and
the resident does not
do the work.
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Processing Fees
The park can charge an application processing fee, not to exceed $25, to
people who want to buy a home from a park resident and want the home to

remain in the park.

Under Minnesota law a park is prohibited from charging any other “entrance”
or “transfer” fees for the right to become a park resident, or for the right to sell

or buy a manufactured home already located in the park.

Eviction
Actions For Which a Resident May Be Evicted

There are eight reasons a resident can be evicted from a
manufactured home park. Minnesota law allows a park to ask a resident

to move for the following reasons:

1. A resident is late paying rent or utility charges owed to
the park. The park has to give the resident, and anyone the park
knows has a mortgage on the resident’s home, a written notice ten
days before taking action. Either the resident or the mortgage-holder
must pay the amount due within the ten days, or the park can ask the

resident to move.

2. A resident fails to comply with a law or government rule
relating to manufactured home parks. The park must write to
the resident and explain what the resident is doing wrong. The resident
must then begin obeying the law or regulation within the time allowed

or within a reasonable amount of time.

3. Aresident breaks the terms of the lease or the park’s rules.
The park must provide a resident with written notice of the problem
specifying the date, time, and nature of the alleged rule violation.
The resident must comply with the lease or rules within 30 days after
receiving the written notice. This 30-day time frame does not apply to
nonpayment of rent. Nonpayment of rent requires compliance within

ten days after the resident receives written notice.

4. A resident repeatedly breaks important terms of the lease
or park rules, or repeatedly breaks laws or governmental
rules relating to manufactured home parks. The park has to
give a resident written notice of the violations and a written warning

that any future violation could result in eviction. If the resident



commits a violation within six months of receiving the notice, the park

can ask the resident to move immediately.

For example, if a resident breaks important park rules, gets a 30-day
warning, obeys the rules for 30 days, breaks the rules again, and gets
another warning, then the park may give the resident written notice
that future violations will be cause for eviction. If the resident then
commits another serious violation within six months, the park can ask

the resident to move.

A resident does something in the manufactured home
park that endangers other residents or park personnel,
seriously damages park property, or substantially annoys
other residents. The park can give a resident written notice and
ask the resident to move within 30 days. The notice must state the
time, date, and nature of the annoyance, damage or endangerment.
The park may ask a resident to move immediately if the resident again
endangers or substantially annoys people or seriously damages park
property after the resident has received the 30-day notice. The park
owner does not need to produce evidence of a criminal conviction to

evict a resident.

All or part of the manufactured home park is going to close.
The owner must give residents nine months advance notice before
the park will close. The park owner has additional responsibilities to
residents when closing a park. If part of the park will remain open,
a resident has the right to move within the park, providing a lot is

available and the home fits the size and zoning of the lot.

If the park is converting to a condominium, residents have additional
rights under Minnesota law. The nine-month advance notice must tell
residents the park is closing to convert to a condominium. Additionally,
120 days before the end of the nine months, the park owner must
serve residents with a purchase agreement and provide residents with
the option to purchase their lots. Subject to certain limitations, these
provisions do not apply to the conversion of a manufactured home
park to a cooperative incorporated under Minnesota Statute Chapters
308A or 308B. Condominium sales are governed by Minnesota Statute
§ 515A.4-110.

The park owner is making improvements to the park that will
substantially benefit the health and safety of the residents
and itis necessary to remove aresident’s home to complete

The park must follow

certain steps prior to

evicting a resident.
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the work. The park must give residents who will be affected written
notice 90 days before work will begin. This notice must explain how
the improvements will benefit the residents. Residents have the right
to move within the park, if the homes fit the size and zoning of the

available lots.

A resident gives false information in the lease application.
The park can ask a resident to move if the resident has given false
information in the lease application. However, a park may only evict
residents for this reason if the park acts within one year of the date the

resident started to pay rent.

If the park asks a resident to move, but the resident feels he or she has
a legal right to stay, the resident can refuse to move. In order to evict a
resident, the park must go to court. If the court decides in favor of the

park, the court will order the resident to move.

Defenses to Eviction
There are four defenses a resident can use to respond to a park

owner’s eviction action. These include:

L.

A resident being evicted for nonpayment of rent has a defense if the
money owed is being charged illegally by the park owner.

A resident being evicted for nonpayment of rent has a defense if a park
owner did not give proper notice of a rent increase, or increased the
rent more than two times in 12 months.

Aresident being evicted due to a rule violation has a defense if the rule
is unreasonable.

A resident may use the landlord’s retaliation as a defense in an eviction

action.

Right to Redemption

A resident has a right to redemption up to two times each year. This means a

resident evicted for nonpayment of rent may stay in the park if the resident

pays all money owed to the park, including rent, with interest, cost of the

action, and an attorney’s fee of $5.

Eviction Proceedings

To evict a resident, a court must issue a Writ of Restitution, or a Conditional

Writ. These writs provide different timelines for eviction:

Under a Writ of Restitution, a resident must be allowed a reasonable
period of time (up to seven days) to arrange to remove the resident’s

home from the lot.



e Under a Conditional Writ, a resident must be allowed to reside in the
park for a reasonable period (up to seven days). However, the resident’s
home is allowed to remain on the lot for 60 days to allow for an in-park

sale of the home.

Parks Cannot Retaliate
A park owner cannot retaliate against a resident for making a good
faith effort to exercise the resident’s rights. The park cannot increase
rent, decrease services, change the rental agreement, evict the resident, or
threaten to do any of these things simply because a resident has:
*  Complained in good faith to the park owner or to a government agency
or official.
* Attempted in good faith to exercise rights under the lease, park rules,
or any law or government rule.
e Participated in the activities of a resident association. Resident
associations are organized for the purpose of resolving matters relating

to living conditions in the park.

If the park tries to evict a resident within 90 days after the resident has taken
any of these actions, the park has to prove in court that the eviction was not
retaliatory. Even after 90 days have passed, if the resident can show evidence
that the reason for the eviction is retaliation, the burden is on the park to prove

otherwise.

In-Park Sale of a
Manufactured Home

An in-park sale occurs when a resident sells the his or her home to a buyer who

wants the home to remain in the same park. A resident has the right to sell the

home within the park regardless of the home’s age.

The park cannot:
*  Charge more than a $25 application processing fee when a resident
wants to sell a home within the park.
*  Require a resident to sell the home to the park.

* Require a resident to use the park as a listing or selling agent.

If a park owner is licensed as a dealer, a park owner may agree in writing to

broker the in-park sale of a resident’s home.

The park can:
»  Charge up to $25 for processing a prospective buyer’s application to

become a resident.

A park owner cannot
retaliate against a
resident for making
a good faith effort

to exercise the

resident’s rights.
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* Allow a home to remain vacant for 90 days or longer as specified by
park rules.
e Require rent to be paid on time and the lot to be properly maintained.

e Approve a buyer as a resident.

When selling a home through a broker, the broker must be a
licensed manufactured home dealer or a licensed real estate
broker. A resident can sell the home they own and live in. If a home or lot
does not meet existing park rules, the park can require the owner to follow the

rules before the park approves the sale of the home.

The park owner may require a prospective buyer to agree to rules different
from those that applied to the resident who is selling the home. However, the
park owner cannot enforce any rule adopted or amended after the resident
entered into the rental agreement that would:
* Significantly increase the difficulty or time involved in selling the
home.
» Significantly decrease the price at which the home can be sold.
* Involve any other significant cost for either the resident or buyer,
except the cost to bring the home into compliance with preexisting

maintenance rules.

However, if a home, shed, or other structure has become so dilapidated that
repair is impractical and total replacement is necessary, the park may require
replacement by the resident or prospective buyer in accordance with a generally
applicable rule adopted after the resident initially entered into an agreement

with the park.

Park’s Approval of a Buyer for Residency
The park has the right to approve a buyer as a resident. The seller
must tell the prospective buyer, in writing, that the sale is subject to final

approval by the park.

When the prospective buyer seeks to become a resident, the park owner may
require the prospective buyer to submit certain information. The required
information may include:

e The purchase price of the home.

e The amount of monthly payments on the home.

*  Any relevant documentation necessary to verify the information.

*  The creditworthiness of the prospective buyer.



The park must comply with the following when processing a buyer’s

application:

The park must explain, in writing, its decision-making process for
approving or rejecting new residents.

The park must make copies of this explanation available without
charge and include a copy with rental applications.

The written policies for approving or rejecting residents must be
reasonable and apply uniformly to all applicants.

If the park owner requires a personal interview, the park owner must
be available for interviews at reasonable times.

The park must make a decision within 14 days after receiving the
buyer’s completed application. If a delay occurs, the park must give
the seller and the buyer a written explanation and make a decision as
soon as possible.

The park cannot be any stricter in approving a prospective buyer than
it is in approving other prospective residents.

If the park denies a buyer’s application, the denial must be reasonable.
The park owner cannot deny residency to a prospective buyer for any
reason prohibited by federal, state, or local law.

If a buyer gives the park a written request for an explanation of the

park’s decision, the park must provide it within three days.

Safety Disclosure and Repairs

The Legislature repealed the law that previously required the seller of a

manufactured home within a park to provide a “safety feature disclosure form”

to any prospective buyer. Sales of used manufactured homes manufactured

after June 14, 1976, must comply with the Notice of Compliance Form found

on pages 36 and 37 of this publication.

Repossession
A manufactured home can be repossessed under the following

circumstances:

If the resident-owner defaults on the security agreement for the
manufactured home;

If the resident-owner defaults on another security agreement for which
the manufactured home has been used as collateral; and

If the owner who does not reside in the home defaults on the security

agreement for the manufactured home.

A secured party may commence repossession of a manufactured home by

personally serving upon, or by sending by certified or registered United

States mail and concurrently sending a copy of the notice by first class mail

A manufactured
home can be

repossessed
under certain

circumstances.
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to the occupant of the manufactured home a notice and, if the occupant is
not the debtor, by sending a registered or certified letter to the last known
address of the debtor under the security agreement. The notice must set forth
the circumstances constituting the default and state that the secured party
will, at the expiration of a 30-day period following receipt of the notice,
seek a court order removing the occupant from the manufactured home
and repossessing the manufactured home, unless the debtor or the occupant
acting on behalf of the debtor cures the default prior to that time. The notice
of default must contain the following language: “Your loan is currently in
default. Contact us immediately at [insert phone number] to discuss possible
options for preventing repossession. We encourage you to seek assistance
from the foreclosure prevention counseling program in your area. Nearby
community agencies will answer your questions, offer free advice, and help
you create a plan. You can contact the Minnesota Home Ownership Center at
(866) 462-6466 or www.hocmn.org to get the phone number and location of
the nearest foreclosure prevention organization. Call today. Waiting limits
your options. I[F YOU DO NOT BECOME CURRENT ON YOUR LOAN
WITHIN 30 DAYS, WE WILL SEEK A COURT ORDER REPOSSESSING
THE HOME, AND BY COURT ORDER YOU WILL HAVE TO VACATE
THE HOME.”

A debtor, or an occupant of a manufactured home acting on
behalf of a debtor, may within the 30-day period, cure a default
by tendering full payment of the sums then in arrears under the
terms of the security agreement, or by otherwise remedying the
default, and by paying the reasonable costs, not to exceed the
sum of $100, incurred by the secured party to enforce the security
agreement. Cure of a default shall suspend the secured party’s right to seek

repossession of the manufactured home.

In addition, if the debtor does not cure the default within the 30-day period, the
secured party must also send a registered or certified letter and concurrently
send a copy of the notice by first class mail to the occupant of the home and, if
the debtor is different than the occupant, to the debtor, stating that the debtor
has 30 days to reinstate the loan by paying the defaulted amount plus additional
allowable fees incurred by the secured party in order to regain possession of

the home.

The reinstatement notice shall contain, at a minimum, the following

information:
1. The name of the secured party, the debtor, each current assignee of the
loan, if any, and the original or maximum principal amount secured by

the loan;



2. The date of the loan;
The amount in arrears on the loan as of the date of the notice;

4. A description of the manufactured home upon which the loan is
secured; and

5. The amount of allowable fees incurred by the secured party in order

to regain possession of the home prior to the court order.

The reinstatement notice must also include the following language: “Your
manufactured home is currently being repossessed. Contact us immediately
at [insert phone number] to discuss possible options for reinstating your
loan. We encourage you to seek counseling with the foreclosure prevention
counselor in your area. Nearby community agencies will answer your
questions, offer free advice, and help you create a plan. You can contact the
Minnesota Home Ownership Center at 866-462-6466 or www.hocmn.org to
get the phone number and location of the nearest counseling organization. Call
today. Waiting limits your options. If you do not become current on your loan
within 30 days, including any additional fees, you will no longer be entitled to
reinstate your loan. We are seeking a court order repossessing the home, and

by court order you will have to vacate the home.”

Except in cases of voluntary repossession, upon expiration of the 30-day
period specified in the notice of default, a secured party must apply to the
district court in the county in which the manufactured home is located for an
order directing the seizure and delivery of the manufactured home, so long
as the right to reinstate has not been exercised. The exercise of the right to
reinstatement suspends the secured party’s right to seek repossession of the

manufactured home and shall immediately terminate any court action filed.

The party repossessing the home has the right to sell the home
through an in-park sale if the following conditions are met:
*  After repossessing the home the secured party must notify the park
owner that the home has been repossessed.
e The park owner must receive this notice before the park owner has
begun eviction proceedings.
e The secured party must pay up to three months of the resident’s past
due rent. This liability for past rent does not include late fees.
*  The secured party must make monthly rent payments until the park
owner approves a buyer for the repossessed home.
e The secured party must comply with all park rules relating to lot and

home maintenance.

A secured party offering a home for an in-park sale may be evicted for the

same reasons a resident could be evicted.

The party repossessing
the home has the right

to sell the home through
an in-park sale if certain

conditions are met.
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To repossess a home, the repossessor must bring the resident to court in the
county where the home is located, rather than any county the repossessor

might choose.

Removal of a Home After Repossession
When a secured party repossesses a manufactured home and removes the
home from the park, the secured party owes the park owner rent for the period
beginning with repossession and ending on the last calendar day of the month
the home is removed. However, the secured party would not owe past due rent
prior to the time the secured party accepted voluntary repossession or took
action if:

*  Within seven days after accepting repossession, the secured party

notifies the park owner in writing that the home is being repossessed.
e The secured party pays each month’s lot rent as it becomes due.
e The secured party removes the home from the park within seven days

after repossessing it.

If the secured party fails to meet any of these conditions, the secured party
would owe the park owner up to three months of past due rent, excluding late

fees or other charges.

Park Closing

A park owner must follow certain steps before closing a park.
The park owner must provide a “closure statement” to the commissioners
of health and the housing finance agency, the local planning agency, and
each resident at least nine months before the planned closing. The “closure
statement” says the park is closing, lists replacement housing within 25 miles
of the park, and gives cost estimates for moving homes from the park. The
“closure statement” must include the following language in a font not smaller
than 14 point: “YOU MAY BE ENTITLED TO COMPENSATION FROM
THE MINNESOTA MANUFACTURED HOME RELOCATION TRUST
FUND ADMINISTERED BY THE MINNESOTA HOUSING FINANCE
AGENCY.”

A public hearing will be held to review the closure statement and determine
the impact of the park closing. The municipality must mail residents a notice,
at least ten days before the hearing, stating the time, place, and purpose of
the hearing. Residents may not be required to move until 60 days after the
conclusion of the public hearing. At the time of the public hearing, displaced

residents must be informed that they may be eligible for payment from the



Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund as compensation for
reasonable relocation costs. In some instances, the municipality may have
other parties, including the municipality, pay relocation costs for the displaced
residents. A “displaced resident” includes residents and members of the

resident’s household as of the date the closure statement is submitted.

If a person purchasing a manufactured home park intends to close or change
it within one year of the purchase agreement, the person must notify the park
owner in writing. The park owner must then give each resident a 45-day notice
of the purchaser’s intent to close or convert the park. The 45-day written notice
must:

e State the park owner will provide information on the price, terms, and

conditions of the buyer’s offer.
*  Be sent by first class mail to all residents.
* Indicate that the notice to residents begins on the postmark date and

runs for 45 days.

During the notice period, 51 percent of the residents in the park may work
together to meet the buyer’s cash price and purchase the park themselves to
keep it as a manufactured housing community. The park owner must accept

the counter offer from the residents if it meets the cash price of the first offer.

Notice of Sale

If a park owner is selling a manufactured home park and advertising it for sale
through a publication, newspaper, or realtor, the park owner must, at the same
time, give a written notice to all residents of the park. If time is required to sell
the park, the owner is only required to provide residents with written notice

once each year.

Minnesota Manufactured Home
Relocation Trust Fund

If a homeowner is required to relocate due to the closure or

conversion of a manufactured home park, the homeowner may
be entitled to payment from the Minnesota Manufactured Home
Relocation Trust Fund. Any such payment is equal to the actual relocation
costs for relocating the manufactured home to a new location within a 25-mile
radius, up to a maximum of $7,000 for a single-section and $12,500 for a

multi-section manufactured home.

If a homeowner is
required to relocate

due to the closure

or conversion of a
manufactured home park,

the homeowner may

be entitled to payment
from the Minnesota
Manufactured Home
Relocation Trust Fund.
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Relocation costs include the reasonable cost of taking down, moving, and
setting up the manufactured home, including equipment rental, utility
connection and disconnection charges, minor repairs, modifications necessary
for transportation of the home, necessary moving permits and insurance, and

moving costs for certain appurtenances.

Among other eligibility requirements, manufactured homeowners who rent
lots in a manufactured home park must make an annual $15 payment to the
park owner when due each year. These payments must then be deposited by the

park owner into the Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund.

A manufactured homeowner is not entitled to recover from the
Minnesota Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund if this
annual $15 payment is not made. In order to recover from the Minnesota
Manufactured Home Relocation Trust Fund, a manufactured homeowner must
submit the following materials:
e A copy of the closure statement;
* A copy of the contract with the moving contractor for relocation costs;
* A statement and supporting materials for any other permissible
relocation costs;
*  Astatement certifying that certain exceptions to recovery do not apply;
e A statement from park owner that the lot rental is current and the
manufactured homeowner made the annual $15 payments when due;
and
* Astatement from the county certifying that personal property taxes for

the manufactured home are paid through the end of that year.

Copies of these materials must be provided to a neutral third party appointed
at the public hearing, the Minnesota Housing Finance Agency, and the park
owner. If an application for relocation expenses is approved, the Minnesota
Housing Finance Agency must pay the moving contractor directly in two
payments, one for 50 percent of the contract price at the time the contract is
signed, and the remaining 50 percent upon completion of the relocation and
approval by the manufactured homeowner. A check is made payable to the

manufactured homeowner for any other approved relocation costs.

If an owner cannot relocate the manufactured home due to its age or condition,
or if there are no parks willing or able to accept the manufactured home within
the 25-mile radius, the manufactured homeowner may still be eligible for
recovery. The law allows the owner to tender title of the manufactured home
to the park owner and collect an amount to be determined by an independent
appraiser, up to a maximum of $8,000 for a single-section, and $14,500 for a

multi-section manufactured home.



Resources

Glossary of Terms

Lot:
An area within a manufactured home park designed or used for a

manufactured home.

Manufactured Home:
A structure that is not a part of real estate, and that has one or more
sections that may be transported. The home (or a section of the home)
has a width of eight body feet or more and a length of 40 body feet or
more. On site, the home is 320 square feet or more. The home must
be built as a permanent chassis. The home may or may not have a
permanent foundation. The home must be designed as a dwelling

when connected to the required utilities.

Manufactured Home Park:
Any site, lot, field, or tract of land where two or more occupied
manufactured homes are located, either free of charge or for
compensation. This includes any building, structure, tent, vehicle, or
enclosure used, or intended to be used, for the manufactured home
park. This does not include facilities open three or fewer seasons each

year.

Park Owner:
The owner of a manufactured home park or any person acting on

behalf of the owner to operate the park.

Resident:
A manufactured homeowner who rents a lot in a manufactured home

park. This includes all members of the resident’s household.

Resident Association:
An organization formed to resolve matters related to living conditions
in the manufactured home park. The organization must have written
permission from at least 51 percent of the homeowners in the park to

represent them.
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General Resources

This section is designed to provide additional resources to manufactured home

Many agencies
provide varying services

park owners, managers, residents and dealers. The following agencies provide

to manufactured home varying services to those involved with manufactured home parks.
park owners, managers, .
. Office of Minnesota Attorney Manufactured & Modular Home
residents, and dealers. . L .
General Lori Swanson Association of Minnesota
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400 33 East Wentworth Avenue, Suite 265
St. Paul, MN 55101 West St. Paul, MN 55118
(651) 296-3353 or (800) 657-3787 (800) 696-3721
TTY: (651) 297-7206 or www.mnmfghome.org

TTY: (800) 366-4812

www.ag.state.mn.us

Minnesota Housing

Finance Agency

Minnesota Department of Health 400 Sibley Street, Suite 300
Environmental Health Services St. Paul, MN 55101-1998
Freeman Building (651) 296-7608 or (800) 657-3769
625 Robert Street North www.mnhousing.gov

P.O. Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
(651) 201-4500

www.health.state.mn.us

Minnesota Management
and Budget
Minnesota Manufactured Home
Relocation Trust Fund
Minnesota Department of sol.mmb.state.mn.us/treas-homes-trust

Labor and Industr
v Better Business Bureau

220 S. River Ridge Circle
Burnsville, MN 55337
(651) 699-1111 or (800) 646-6222

www.bbb.org

Construction Codes and
Licensing Division,
Manufactured Structures Section
443 Lafayette Road North
St. Paul, MN 55155-4341
(651) 284-5005 or (800) 342-5354

www.doli.state.mn.us

All Parks Alliance for
Change (APAC)
2380 Wycliff Street, Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55114
(651) 644-5525 or (855) 361-2722

allparksallianceforchange.org
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Conciliation Courts
Currently, claims of up to $15,000 may be brought in conciliation

Claims of up to $15,000
may be brought in
conciliation court

court. You can obtain legal forms for conciliation court by calling or visiting
the respective courthouse that you intend to file your claim in. Forms are also

available online at www.mncourts.gov.

What Is Conciliation Court?

Conciliation court is often called “people’s court” or “small claims court”
because its basic purpose is to help people recover relatively small sums of
money without having to hire a lawyer. Conciliation court allows you to bring
your legal disputes to a court without the hassles of confusing legal procedures
and high costs. Court rules are generally simple and informal, and the cost of

filing in conciliation court is low.

Conciliation Court Listings

Aitkin (218) 927-7350 Dakota

Anoka (763) 422-7350 Apple Valley (952) 891-7242
Becker (218) 846-7305 Hastings (651) 438-8234
Beltrami (218) 333-4120 West St. Paul ~ (651) 554-6200
Benton (320) 968-5205 Dodge (507) 635-6260
Big Stone (320) 839-2536  Douglas (320) 762-3033
Blue Earth (507) 304-4650 Faribault (507) 526-6273
Brown (507) 233-6670  Fillmore (507) 765-3356
Carlton (218) 384-9578  Freeborn (507) 377-5153
Carver (952) 361-1420 Goodhue (651) 267-4800
Cass (218) 547-7200 Grant (218) 685-8282
Chippewa (320) 269-7774 Hennepin (612) 348-2713
Chisago (651) 213-8650 Houston (507) 725-5806
Clay (218) 299-5065 Hubbard (218) 732-5286
Clearwater (218) 694-6177 Isanti (763) 689-2292
Cook (218) 387-3610 Itasca (218) 327-2870
Cottonwood (507) 831-4551 Jackson (507) 847-4400
Crow Wing (218) 824-1310 Kanabec (320) 679-6400
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The Attorney General’s
Office publishes a free

guide titled Conciliation
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order a copy.
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Kandiyohi
Kittson
Koochiching
Lac qui Parle

Lake

Lake of the Woods

Le Sueur
Lincoln
Lyon
Mahnomen
Marshall
Martin
McLeod
Meeker
Mille Lacs
Morrison
Mower
Murray
Nicollet
Nobles
Norman
Olmsted
Otter Tail
Pennington
Pine
Pipestone
Polk

Pope

Ramsey

(320) 231-6206
(218) 843-3632
(218) 283-1160
(320) 598-3536
(218) 834-8330
(218) 634-1451
(507) 357-8260
(507) 694-1355
(507) 537-6734
(218) 935-2251
(218) 745-4921
(507) 238-3205
(320) 864-1281
(320) 693-5230
(320) 983-8313
(320) 632-0327
(507) 437-9465
(507) 836-1125
(507) 934-7850
(507) 295-5170
(218) 784-5458
(507) 206-2400
(218) 998-8420
(218) 683-7023
(320) 591-1500
(507) 825-1210
(218) 281-2332
(320) 634-5222
(651) 266-8230

Red Lake
Redwood
Renville
Rice
Rock
Roseau
Scott
Sherburne
Sibley
St. Louis
Duluth
Hibbing
Virginia
Stearns
Steele
Stevens
Swift
Todd
Traverse
Wabasha
Wadena
Waseca
Washington
Watonwan
Wilkin
Winona

Wright

Yellow Medicine

(218) 253-4281
(507) 637-4020
(320) 523-3680
(507) 332-6107
(507) 283-5020
(218) 463-2541
(952) 496-8200
(763) 765-4600
(507) 237-4051

(218) 726-2460
(218) 262-0105
(218) 749-7106
(320) 656-3620
(507) 444-7701
(320) 208-6640
(320) 843-2744
(320) 732-7800
(320) 422-7752
(651) 565-3524
(218) 631-7633
(507) 835-0540
(651) 430-6268
(507) 375-1236
(218) 643-7172
(507) 457-6385
(763) 682-7539
(320) 564-3325



Legal Aid Services

Legal Aid Services provide legal assistance to financially disadvantaged Brochures and other
persons. Each Legal Aid office has criteria to determine when a person resources may be
qualifies for legal assistance at little to no cost. Some Legal Aid offices obtained at most
provide assistance only within certain areas of the state or to certain groups of Legal Aid offices.

individuals—see specific listings for more information.

Legal Aid Service of Northeastern Minnesota

Administrative Office: Grand Rapids Office
Duluth Office 350 NW 1st Avenue, Suite F
302 Ordean Building Grand Rapids, MN 55744
424 West Superior Street (218) 322-6020 or (800) 708-6695
Duluth, MN 55802 Serves Itasca and Koochiching

(218) 623-8100 or (855) 204-1697  counties
www.lasnem.org

Pine City Office
Serves Carlton, Cook, Lake, and

235 Main Street South

southern St. Louis counties ) .
Pine City, MN 55063

Local Offices: (320) 629-7166 (voice/TTY) or
Brainerd Office (800) 382-7166
P. O. Box 804 Serves Pine and Kanabec counties
324 South 5th Street, Suite A
. Virginia Office
Brainerd, MN 56401 )
Olcott Plaza, Suite 200
(218) 829-1701 or (800) 933-1112 ]
820 North Ninth Street

Serves Aitkin, Cass, and Crow Wing o
Virginia, MN 55792

(218) 749-3270 (voice/TTY) or
(800) 886-3270

counties
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Mid-MN Legal Aid
serves Minnesotans
in the 20 counties of

central Minnesota,

including Hennepin.
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Legal Services of Northwest Minnesota

Administrative Office: Bemidji Office
Moorhead Office 215 Fourth Street NW
P.O. Box 838 P.O. Box 1883
1015 Seventh Avenue North Bemidji, MN 56619
Moorhead, MN 56560 (218) 751-9201 or (800) 450-9201
(218) 233-8585 or (800) 450-8585  Serves Beltrami, Clearwater,
www.Isnmlaw.org Hubbard, Lake of the Woods, and

Serves  Becker. Clay, Kittson, Mahnomen counties.

Marshall, Norman, Pennington,

. Anishinabe Legal Services
Polk, Red Lake, Roseau, and Wilkin

. P.O. Box 157
counties .
411 First Street NW
Alexandria Office Cass Lake, MN 56633
426 Broadway Street (218) 335-2223 or (800) 422-1335
Alexandria, MN 56308 www.alslegal.org

(320) 762-0663 or (800) 450-2552  Serves Indian and non-Indian
Serves Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, residents of Leech Lake, Red Lake,
Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wadena and White Earth reservations.

counties [seniors living in Wadena .
Judicare of Anoka County

1201 89th Avenue NE, Suite 310
Blaine, MN 55434
(763) 783-4970

www.anokajudicare.org

county are served by St. Cloud Area

Legal Services].

Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid Offices

Minneapolis Office Willmar Office
430 First Avenue North, Suite 300 415 Seventh Street SW
Minneapolis, MN 55401-1780 P.O. Box 1866
(612) 334-5970 Willmar, MN 56201
(612) 332-4668 (TDD) (320) 235-9600 or (888) 360-3666
www.mylegalaid.org www.mylegalaid.org

Serves Big Stone, Chippewa,
St. Cloud Office

110 6th Avenue South, Suite 200
St. Cloud, MN 56301
(320) 253-0121 or (888) 360-2889

www.mylegalaid.org

Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Lincoln,
Meeker, Renville, Swift, and Yellow

Medicine counties

Serves Benton, Mille Lacs, Morrison,
Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, and Wright

counties



Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services

Administrative Office Saint Paul Central Office
1000 Alliance Bank Center, 400 Alliance Bank Center
55 East 5th Street 55 East 5th Street
St. Paul, MN 55101 St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 228-9823 (651) 222-5863
www.smrls.org (651) 222-4731 (new clients)
(651) 224-7301 (new senior clients)
Albert Lea Office )
Serving Carver, Ramsey, Scott, and
132 North Broadway

Washington counties (also seniors
Albert Lea, MN 56007

(507) 3772831 living in Dakota county).

(800) 223-0280 (clients only) Shakopee Office

(888) 575-2954 (new clients) 712 Canterbury Road South
Serving Faribault, Freeborn, Mower, Shakopee, MN 55379
Rice, and Steele counties. (952) 402-9890

(651) 222-4731 (new clients)

Eastside and American Indian )
Serving Carver, Dakota, and Scott

Branch Office
579 Wells Street, Suite 100
St. Paul, MN 55130
(651) 222-5863 Winona Office
(651) 222-4731 (clients only) 66 East Third Street, Suite 204
Winona, MN 55987-3478
(507) 454-6660 (voice or TTY)
(800) 372-8168 (clients only)
(888) 575-2954 (new clients)
Serves Dodge, Fillmore, Goodhue,
Houston, Olmstead, Wabasha, and

counties and Seniors in Carver and

Scott counties.

Mankato Office
12 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 3000
Mankato, MN 56001
(507) 387-5588
(800) 247-2299 (clients only)
(888) 575-2954 (new clients)
Serves Blue Earth, Brown, LeSueur,
Martin, McLeod, Nicollet, Sibley, Worthington Office
Waseca and Watonwan counties (also 1567 N. McMillan Street, Suite 6

Winona counties.

seniors living in Faribault county). Worthington, MN 56187
(507) 372-7368
(800) 233-0023 (clients only)
(888) 575-2954 (new clients)

Serves Cottonwood, Jackson, Murray,

Rochester Office
903 West Center Street, Suite 230
Rochester, MN 55902
(507) 292-0080

) Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, and
(888) 575-2954 (for clients)

Rock counties.

For more information
about Southern
Minnesota Regional
Legal Services, visit
their website:

www.smrls.org.
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Contact your legislators
if you have questions
about changes in the

law or wish to propose

changes to state law.

OFFICE OF THE MINNESOTA
ATTORNEY GENERAL
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Refugee, Immigrant, and Migrant Services

St. Paul Office Moorhead Office
450 North Syndicate Street, 1015 7th Avenue North
Suite 285 Moorhead, MN 56560
St. Paul, MN 55104 (701) 232-8872
(651) 291-2837 www.smrls.org

www.smrls.or.
g Housing Alliance Law

Rochester Office Office (HALO)
2500 Valleyhigh Drive NW 55 East 5th Street, Suite 400
Rochester, MN 55901 St. Paul, MN 55101
(507) 289-5960 (651) 222-4731

www.smrls.org

Minnesota State Legislature

House Information Senate Information
(651) 296-2146 or (800) 657-3550 (651) 296-0504 or (888) 234-1112
www.house.leg.state.mn.us www.senate.leg.state.mn.us

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD)

Provides brochures and housing programs. HUD also handles most

low-income public housing assistance claims and programs:

HUD Minnesota State Office
International Center
920 Second Avenue South, Suite 1300
Minneapolis, MN 55402-4012
(612) 370-3000

www.hud.gov

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Provides information, loans, and insurance to veterans who wish to purchase

manufactured homes:

Department of Veterans Affairs
810 Vermont Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20420
(800) 827-1000

www.va.gov



Minnesota Association of Community Mediation
Programs

The Minnesota Association of Community Mediation Programs consists of
several centers which provide trained volunteer mediators to help resolve
disputes peacefully and cooperatively. These centers cannot provide legal

advice. The costs and fees vary:

Conflict Resolution Center Mediation Services for Anoka
2101 Hennepin Avenue South, County
Suite 100 3200 Main St. Suite 210
Minneapolis, MN 55405 Coon Rapids, MN 55448
(612) 822-9883 (763) 422-8878
www.crcminnesota.org www.mediationservice.org

Serves Minneapolis, St. Anthony, Serves Anoka County
Edina, Bloomington, Burnsville,
Richfield, and Eden Prairie

Mediation & Conflict Solutions
1700 North Broadway, Suite 124

Community Mediation & P. O. Box 6541
Restorative Services, Inc. Rochester, MN 55903-6541
9220 Bass Lake Road, Suite 270 (507) 285-8400
New Hope, MN 55428 www.mediationandconflictsolutions.
(763) 561-0033 com

www.communitymediations.org L.
Mediation Center of

Southern Minnesota
301 North Main Street
Austin, MN 55912
(507) 433-3663

www.redrp.org

Serves Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn

Park, Champlin, Corcoran, Golden

Valley, Hopkins, Maple Grove,

Minnetonka, Mound, New Hope,

Orono, Plymouth, Robbinsdale, and

St. Louis Park
Rice County Dispute
Resolution Program
1651 Jefferson Parkway
Northfield, MN 55057

(507) 664-3522

Dispute Resolution Center
91 East Arch Street
St. Paul, MN 55130
(651) 292-7791
www.disputeresolutioncenter.org
Serves  Ramsey, Dakota, and

Washington counties

If you have any
additional questions,
please call the

Minnesota Attorney
General’s Office at
(651) 296-3353 or
(800) 657-3787.
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Forms Required by State Law
There are two forms that people buying and selling manufactured homes will
use. These are the Notice Required by State Law and the Notice of Compliance

Form. The full text of these forms follows:

Notice Required by State Law (Page 35)
This notice must be printed in minimum size of ten point, boldface print, and

posted in a conspicuous and public location in the park.

Notice of Compliance Form (Page 36)

A used manufactured home manufactured after June 14, 1976, cannot be sold
or installed for occupancy unless it complies with the Notice of Compliance
Form set forth on page 36, signed by the seller and purchaser indicating which
party is responsible for making or paying for necessary corrections prior to

transfer of ownership.



IMPORTANT NOTICE

State law provides special rules for the owners, residents, and prospective residents of manufactured home parks.

You may keep your home in the park as long as the park is in operation and you meet your financial obligations,
obey state and local laws which apply to the park, obey reasonable park rules, do not substantially annoy or endanger
the other residents or substantially endanger park personnel and do not substantially damage the park premises.
You may not be evicted or have your rent increased or your services cut for complaining to the park owner or to a

governmental official.

If you receive an eviction notice and do not leave the park, the park owner may take you to court. If you lose in
court, a sheriff may remove you and your home from the park within seven days. Or, the court may require you to

leave the park within seven days but give you 60 days to sell the home within the park.

If you receive an eviction notice for a new or amended rule and the court finds the rule to be reasonable and not
a substantial modification of your original agreement, the court will not order you to leave but will order you to
comply with the rule within ten days. If you do not comply within the time given or if you violate the rule at a later

time, you will be subject to eviction.

All park rules and policies must be reasonable. Your rent may not be increased more than twice a year. Changes
made in park rules after you become a park resident will not apply to you if they substantially change your original

agreement.
The park may not charge you an entrance fee.
The park may require a security deposit, but the deposit must not amount to more than two months rent.

You have a right to sell the home in the park. But the sale is not final until the park owner approves the buyer as a
new resident, and you must advise in writing anyone who wants to buy your home that the sale is subject to final
approval by the park owner. The park must provide to you, in writing, the procedures and criteria used to evaluate
a prospective resident. If your application is denied, you can request, in writing, the reason why. You must also
disclose in writing certain safety information about your home to anyone who wants to buy it in the park. You must
give this information to the buyer before the sale, in writing, on the form that is attached to this notice. You must

completely and accurately fill out the form and you and the buyer should each keep a copy.

Your rental agreement and the park rules contain important information about your rights and duties. Read them

carefully and keep a copy.

You must be given a copy of the shelter or evacuation plan for the park. This document contains information on

where to seek shelter in times of severe weather conditions. You should carefully review the plan and keep a copy.

By February 1 of each year, the park must give you a certificate of rent constituting property taxes as required by
Minnesota Statutes, section 290A.19.

For further information concerning your rights, consult a private attorney. The state law governing the rental of lots

in manufactured home parks may also be enforced by the Minnesota Attorney General.




Notice of Compliance Form as required in Minnesota Statutes, section
327.32, subdivision 1

This notice must be completed and signed by the purchaser(s) and the seller(s) of the used manufactured home
described in the purchase agreement and on the bottom of this notice before the parties transfer ownership of a used
manufactured home constructed after June 14, 1976.

Electric ranges and clothes dryers must have required four-conductor cords and plugs. For the purpose of complying
with the requirements of section 327B.06, a licensed retailer or limited retailer shall retain at least one copy of the
form required under this subdivision.

Complies .......... Correction required ..........
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... Seller ..........

Solid fuel-burning fireplaces or stoves must be listed for use in manufactured homes, Code of Federal Regulations,
title 24, section 3280.709 (g), and installed correctly in accordance with their listing or standards (i.e., chimney,
doors, hearth, combustion, or intake, etc., Code of Federal Regulations, title 24, section 3280.709 (g)).

Complies .......... Correction required ..........
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... Seller ..........

Gas water heaters and furnaces must be listed for manufactured home use, Code of Federal Regulations, title 24,
section 3280.709 (a) and (d)(1) and (2), and installed correctly, in accordance with their listing or standards.

Complies .......... Correction required ..........
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... Seller ..........

Smoke alarms are required to be installed and operational in accordance with Code of Federal Regulations, title 24,
section 3280.208.

Complies .......... Correction required ..........
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... Seller ..........

Carbon monoxide alarms or CO detectors that are approved and operational are required to be installed within ten
feet of each room lawfully used for sleeping purposes.

Complies .......... Correction required ..........
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... Seller ..........

Egress windows are required in every bedroom with at least one operable window with a net clear opening of 20
inches wide and 24 inches high, five square feet in area, with the bottom of windows opening no more than 36
inches above the floor. Locks, latches, operating handles, tabs, or other operational devices shall not be located more
than 54 inches above the finished floor.

Complies .......... Correction required ..........

Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... Seller ..........



The furnace compartment of the home is required to have interior finish with a flame spread rating not exceeding 25,
as specified in the 1976 United States Department of Housing and Urban Development Code governing manufactured
housing construction.

Complies .......... Correction required ..........
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... Seller ..........

The water heater enclosure in this home is required to have interior finish with a flame spread rating not exceeding
25, as specified in the 1976 United States Department of Housing and Urban Development Code governing
manufactured housing construction.

Complies .......... Correction required ..........
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... Seller ..........

The home complies with the snow load and heat zone requirements for the state of Minnesota as indicated by the
data plate.

Complies .......... Correction required ..........
Initialed by Responsible Party: Buyer .......... Seller ..........

The parties to this agreement have initialed all required sections and agree by their signature to complete any
necessary corrections prior to the sale or transfer of ownership of the home described below as listed in the purchase
agreement.

The state of Minnesota or a local building official has the authority to inspect the home in the manner described in
Minnesota Statutes, section 327.33, prior to or after the sale to ensure compliance was properly executed as provided
under the Manufactured Home Building Code.

Signature of Purchaser(s) of Home

Print name as appears on purchase agreement Print name as appears on purchase agreement

Signature of Seller(s) of Home

Print name and license number, if applicable Print name and license number, if applicable

(Street address of home at time of sale)

(CHEY/SEALE/ZIP) veeneeneeeteeteeeeete ettt ettt ettt et ettt e e e teeaeenee s e eseeseensenseeneensenseeneeneensenes
Name of manufacturer 0f NOME ..........cccuiiiiiiiiiiiiiie e
MOAET ANA FEAT ....eveieiiiieiiie ettt ettt e et e e e ateeestaeestaeesbe e sbeessbeeenbeeeraaens
SErIal MUMDET ....oueiiiiiiiiiie et seb e e b e e s beessbeeebeeetaeesaeessseessseens



Consumer Questions or Complaints
The Minnesota Attorney General’s Office answers questions regarding numerous consumer issues. The Attorney
General’s Office also provides assistance in resolving disputes between Minnesota consumers and businesses and

uses information from consumers to enforce the state’s civil laws. We welcome your calls!

If you have a consumer complaint, you You can also receive direct assistance

may contact the Attorney General’s from a consumer specialist by calling:
Office in writing: (651) 296-3353 or (800) 657-3787
Minnesota Attorney General’s Office TTY: (651) 297-7206 or TTY: (800) 366-4812
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400 (TTY numbers are for callers using
St. Paul, MN 55101 teletypewriter devices.)

Additional Publications
Additional consumer publications are available from the Minnesota Attorney General’'s Office.
Contact us to receive copies or preview the publications on our website at www.ag.state.mn.us.

Car Handbook Home Buyer’s Handbook Minnesota’s Car Laws
Home Building and Home Seller’s Handbook Phone Handbook

Remodeling Landlords and Tenants: Probate and Planning: A Guide
Conciliation Court Rights and Responsibilities to Planning for the Future
Credit Handbook Managing Your Health Care Seniors’ Legal Rights

Guarding Your Privacy: Tips Manufactured Home Parks Veterans and Service Members
to Prevent Identity Theft Handbook Other Consumer Bulletins

MINNESOTA ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OFFICE
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400, St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 296-3353 « (800) 657-3787 « TTY: (651) 297-7206 * (800) 366-4812

Www.ag.state.mn.us



