State of Minnesota
More about
Attorney General
Lori Swanson

Minnesota Attorney General's Office

1400 Bremer Tower
445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101

(651) 296-3353
(800) 657-3787

M - F 8 am - 5 pm

TTY:(651) 297-7206
TTY:(800) 366-4812

Charitable Organization Initial Registration Instructions

The following is a summary of charitable organization initial registration requirements in Minnesota. For further information and definitions, please refer to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 309.


Minnesota law requires a charitable organization to file a registration statement if: 1) it solicits or intends to solicit contributions in excess of $25,000 a year; or 2) its functions and activities are not performed wholly by volunteers (i.e. it pays staff, independent contractors (like coaches), officers or uses a professional fund-raiser). For a list of exemptions, see Minn. Stat. § 309.515 or the exemption form at

An organizations that has never been registered as a soliciting charity under Minn. Stat. § 309.52 should file the initial registration information. Organizations that have already filed an Initial Registration with this Office must file an Annual Report in order to continue its registration. Please see separate instructions for filing an Annual Report.


Due Date: If an organization is required to register (see above), it must register before it solicits contributions in the State of Minnesota. If it does not do any of the above, it must register within 30 days after the date on which its total contributions (exclusive of the direct cost of prizes given to the public by the charitable organization in connection with lawful gambling conducted in compliance with chapter 349) exceed $25,000.


Initial Registration Form. Organizations must use the most current Charitable Organization Initial Registration & Annual Report Form (“Initial Registration Form”) as posted on the Attorney General’s website or dated on or after 01/13. Because the form is for Initial Registration & Annual Reporting, Initial Registration filers need only complete Sections A, B, and D. All of those sections must be fully completed and must include all required attachments. The Initial Registration Form requires TWO signatures by any two duly constituted officers of the charitable organization, who are executing the statement pursuant to a resolution of the board of directors or trustees, or if there be no such board, then by its managing group which has approved the content of the annual report.

Attach a copy of the Articles of Incorporation or other corporate formation document.

Attach a copy of the IRS determination letter for tax-exempt status (if any).

$25.00 Registration Fee. Please make the check payable to the State of Minnesota.

Attach a copy of the most recent IRS Form 990 or financial statement for the organization’s most recent 12 month-period immediately preceding the filing of the initial registration statement. For example, if you are filing a registration statement in March of 2013, the organization’s 2012 financial information would need to be filed with the registration statement.


Minnesota accepts the Uniform Registration Statement (“URS”), but the organization needs to file the Minnesota Supplement.


Call the Charities/Civil Division at (651) 757-1311
Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (TTY): 651)296-1410

Mail To:
Office of the Attorney General
1200 Bremer Tower, 445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101-2130

Upon request, forms can be made available in alternate formats.