State of Minnesota
More about
Attorney General
Lori Swanson


Minnesota Attorney General's Office

1400 Bremer Tower
445 Minnesota Street
St. Paul, MN 55101

(651) 296-3353
(800) 657-3787

M - F 8 am - 5 pm

TTY:(651) 297-7206
TTY:(800) 366-4812

Purchasing a Manufactured Home

Licensing and Bonding of Dealers and Manufacturers

Manufactured home dealers must have a license and surety bond. (2) The license must be prominently displayed on the premises. (3) Banks, savings and loans, real estate brokers, and businesses that repossess manufactured homes are not required to have a license or a bond. (4)

The Commissioner of the Department of Administration licenses people who meet the application and bond requirements. (5) Certificates are issued by the Commissioner to anyone who is granted a license. (6) The Commissioner may deny, suspend, or revoke any license. (7) If a park violates the surety bond requirement, and a resident is harmed, the resident may take legal action against the park. (8)

Warranties

Every new manufactured home sold in Minnesota has an implied warranty that the home conforms to applicable federal and state laws. (9) Every manufactured home also has an implied warranty of merchantability and fitness for permanent housing in Minnesota’s climate. (10) Manufacturers or dealers may also make express warranties on a manufactured home, but they cannot limit any implied warranties. (11)

Warranties are valid for one year from the date the new home is delivered to the consumer. (12) When a home owner wants to make a claim covered by either an express or implied warranty, the home owner must notify the dealer, or the manufacturer, within a reasonable time after discovering the problem, but no later than 90 days after the expiration of the warranty. (13) Either the manufacturer, or the dealer, or both of them working together, must repair the manufactured home at its site within a reasonable amount of time after receiving notice from the owner. (14)

Building Codes

Manufactured homes must meet national construction standards. (15) If the manufactured home is constructed after July 1, 1972, and before June 15, 1976, the home must meet the American National Standards Institute code. (16) If the manufactured home is constructed after June 14, 1976, it must meet the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) standards. (17) In order to be sold, the home must have a label as required by the Secretary of HUD. (18) When a home is sold it will also contain a seal issued by the Commissioner of Administration. (19) And, if possible, the home will also have a certificate from the manufacturer or dealer assuring compliance with these codes. (20)

It is a misdemeanor to alter a certified manufactured home so that it violates building codes. (21) It is also a misdemeanor to construct or install a home in violation of the building codes listed above. (22)

The Commissioner of Administration enforces the manufactured home installation rules. (23) The Commissioner may:

  • charge reasonable fees for inspections, seals, and other enforcement costs. (24)
  • adopt rules governing the installation of manufactured homes. (25)
  • adopt rules governing the construction, installation, and certification of manufactured home accessory structures (this means any factory-built building or structure which is an addition or supplement to a manufactured home). (26)
  • require any code violation to be corrected within 40 days. (27)

A person who fails to correct a manufactured home building code violation in 40 days, or interferes with the duties of the Commissioner of Administration, is guilty of a misdemeanor. (28)

Additionally, anyone who violates any of these laws is liable to the State of Minnesota for a civil penalty of $1,000 for each offense, not to exceed $1,000,000. (29)

Tire and Axle Scam

Often companies will go through a manufactured home park offering to buy tires and axles from residents. A resident should be careful, it may be illegal to sell them. It could also create problems, such as moving the home in the future or buying replacements. Finally, a chance exists that the company will move on and leave the resident without compensation or goods.

Next: Duties of the Park Owner and Manager