The ZONE: Drug-Free Zones



The law* is tough on anyone caught selling or possessing illegal drugs in any Minnesota:

- Park Zone
- Public Housing Zone
- School Zone

The law states that park, public housing, and school zones begin at the boundary of the property and extend 300 feet or one city block (whichever distance is greater) beyond the boundary.

The law is also tough on anyone caught selling or possessing illegal drugs:

- On a school bus transporting students
- At a drug treatment facility

Narcotic Drugs under Minnesota law include natural and synthetic substances like Opium, Cocaine, Opiates, Methamphetamine, and Fentanyl.

Adults convicted of the sale or possession of illegal drugs in a school zone, park zone, public housing zone,** or drug treatment facility can be sentenced as follows:

Sale of any Amount of a mixture containing Methamphetamine, Amphetamine, MDMA (Ecstasy/Molly), MDA (Sass/Sally), LSD, Cocaine, Opium, Heroin, Fentanyl, or a narcotic drug:

- Up to 25 years in prison
- Up to a \$500,000 fine
- Repeat Sale At least 3 years and up to 40 years in prison

Possession of any Amount of a mixture containing Methamphetamine, Amphetamine, Cocaine, Opium, Heroin, Fentanyl, or a narcotic drug or 5 or more dosage units of LSD, MDMA (Ecstasy/Molly), or MDA (Sass/Sally):

- Up to 20 years in prison
- Up to a \$250,000 fine

Sale of more than 2 ounces of Cannabis flower, more than 8 grams of Cannabis concentrate, or edibles or other products infused with more than 800 mg of THC:

- Up to 1 year in jail
- Up to a \$3,000 fine

Sentences may be further increased with possession or use of a dangerous weapon in these zones.

Separately, the Minnesota Legislature also made the manufacture, sale, or possession of illegal drugs in a park zone, school zone, correctional facility, or treatment facility one of ten potential aggravating factors, which may increase penalties in the following circumstances:

Sale or Possession of 100 grams or more (or 500 dosage units or more) of a mixture containing Cocaine, Methamphetamine, Heroin, or Fentanyl while possessing a gun or with 2 aggravating factors or **Sale of 100 grams** or more (or 500 dosage units or more) of Amphetamine, Phencyclidine, a hallucinogen, or a narcotic drug while possessing a gun or with 2 aggravating factors:

- At least 86 months and up to 40 years in prison
- Up to a \$1,000,000 fine

Possession of 25 grams or more of a mixture containing Cocaine or Methamphetamine while possessing a gun or with 2 aggravating factors or **Sale of 10 grams** or more of a mixture containing Cocaine or Methamphetamine while possessing a gun or with 2 aggravating factors:

- Up to 30 years in prison
- Up to a \$1,000,000 fine
- Repeat Sale At least 4 years and up to 40 years in prison

Possession of 10 grams or more of a mixture containing Cocaine or Methamphetamine while possessing a gun or with 3 aggravating factors or **Sale of 3 grams** or more of a mixture containing Cocaine or Methamphetamine while possessing a gun or with 3 aggravating factors:

- Up to 25 years in prison
- Up to a \$500,000 fine
- Repeat Sale At least 3 years and up to 40 years in prison

A juvenile convicted of these crimes who is at least 14 years old can be treated as an adult and sentenced in adult court.

This flyer is published pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 152.029

- Minnesota Statutes §§ 152.01, 152.021-152.024, 152.0264
- * Enhanced penalties noted herein for Sale of Cannabis apply in a school zone, a park zone, or a drug treatment facility