Advisory Task Force on Lowering Pharmaceutical Drug Prices Minutes of the First Meeting April 23, 2019

The Attorney General's advisory task force on lowering pharmaceutical drug prices met for the first time on Tuesday, April 23, 2019, at 5:30 p.m. The meeting was held at the MN State Capitol, 75 Dr. Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155, Conference Room 316.

The following members were present in-person:

- Rose Roach
- Elo Alston
- Christie Kuehn
- Shirlynn LaChapelle
- Nicole Smith-Holt
- Dr. Stephen Schondelmeyer
- Phu Huynh
- Dr. Leonard Snellman
- Jessica Braun
- Sen. Scott Jensen
- Rep. John Lesch
- Rep. Rod Hamilton
- Dr. Cody Wiberg

Members present via proxy or electronically:

- Sen. Matt Little, represented by Josh Ney
- Nazie Eftekhari, joined by phone

Attorney General Staff Present:

- Sadaf Rahmani Ex officio
- Jason Pleggenkuhle
- Keaon Dousti
- Shawna Audette
- John Stiles

Meeting Summary

In its first meeting, the task force stayed on task and met all of the items listed on its agenda. Attorney General Keith Ellison opened the meeting by laying out his vision for the task force and thanking all the members for their commitment to this work.

The task force elected Sen. Scott Jensen as its second co-chair. The task force reviewed the by-laws, future meeting schedule, and working group proposals and made edits as needed.

Each working group met for about 10 minutes to discuss and plan their next meetings and elect a chair. Although members of the public were present none chose to give testimonies during the allotted public input time.

Detailed Notes

Agenda: The task force voted to approve the proposed agenda

Charge of the Task Force: The charge of the task force was amended to reflect the change below. The word "all" was replaced by "various" under point six of the mission.

The amended sentence reads as:

6) Conduct a comprehensive analysis of *various* strategies that have been, and could be, undertaken to lower drug prices.

The task force voted and passed the motion to amend the charge.

By-laws: The by-laws were amended to reflect the changes below.

Section 8.2 Absences

Replace "shall" with "may", to read as follows:

Section 8.2. Absences. Members who miss more than three scheduled meetings within a sixmonth period *may* be subject to removal from the task force. The co-chairs shall give members who have missed more than two meetings in a six month period notice of this requirement by email or other writing after the member misses a second meeting. If a pre-determined time/date of a meeting is no longer convenient for a member, they *may* raise this issue with the co-chairs.

The task force approved the motion to amend section 8.2 of the bylaws.

Working Groups: The working groups proposal was approved by the Task force with a few additions.

Each working group elected a chair. The chairs will coordinate to ensure all groups are tracking each other and not producing duplicate work.

30-minutes prior to the normal task force meetings the chairs will meet to discuss the progress of each group.

Members are free to cross-participate in the work of other working groups as necessary.

Working Group #1: Legislation Regulation Action Group

- 1. Sen. Matt Little
- 2. Rep. Rod Hamilton
- 3. Cody Wiberg
- 4. Shirlynn LaChapelle
- 5. Nicole Smith-Holt

Chair: Cody Wiberg Next meeting: May 15, 2019 at 5:30 p.m. Location: TBD <u>Working Group #2</u>: Causes & Contributors

- 1. Dr. Stephen Schondelmeyer
- 2. Dr. Leonard Snellman
- 3. Rose Roach
- 4. Rep. John Lesch
- 5. Christy Kuehn

Chair: Rose Roach Next Meeting: May 08, 5:30 -7:30 p.m. Location: TBD

Working Group #3: Past, Current, and Future Strategies

- 1. Phu Huynh
- 2. Nazie Eftekhari
- 3. Jessica Braun
- 4. Elo Alston
- 5. Sen. Scott Jensen

Chair: Jessica Braun Next Meeting: May 14, 2019 at 5:30 p.m. Location: TBD

Schedule: The task force amended the proposed schedule to reflect the following changes.

The last meeting of the task force was moved from January 22, 2020 to January 14, 2020.

The meeting on August 21, 2019 was moved to September 25, 2020.

An additional meeting was added in July.

The length of the meetings were increased to two hours.

The meetings will be held at the MN State Capitol.

Speakers: The task force will invite a number of speakers to present to the task force during its regular scheduled meetings.

The following individuals were recommended:

- 1. Commissioner Tony Lourey
- 2. Commissioner Jan Malcom
- 3. Harriette A. Washington, author of Deadly Monopolies
- 4. Representatives from major insurance carriers
 - i.e. Blue Cross, Health Partners, Medica etc.
- 5. Representatives from large plan sponsors
 - i.e. Target, Cargill
- 6. Representatives from small to medium companies
- 7. Representatives from distributors
 - i.e. McKesson, Amerisource Bergen, Cardinal
- 8. Medical Director of Optum

9. Patent, anti-trust, and market concentrations experts

Dr. Schondelmeyer and Dr. Wiberg will both be giving presentations to the task force in the next meeting.

Greater Minnesota: The Attorney General's office will hold listening sessions in Greater Minnesota.

Members of the task force are encouraged to attend these listening sessions.

Next Steps: Staff Liaison (Sadaf) will work with all working groups to make sure they have all the resources they need for their first meeting.

Working groups will be ready to present their progress in the next full meeting of the task force, on June 18, 2019.