
Residents of manufactured home parks who own their 
home have many rights under Minnesota law. Some of 
these rights protect them when the park’s rules change.

Park Rules Must Be Reasonable
Minnesota law requires all park rules to be reasonable—
whether the rules are in leases, rulebooks, or regulations. 1  
A reasonable rule must meet all these goals:

•	 Promote residents’ convenience, safety, or welfare.

•	 Promote the park’s appearance and functioning, 
protect park property, or allow fair access to park 
services and facilities. 

•	 Clearly relate to the reason the rule was made. 

•	 Not retaliate or unfairly discriminate against anyone. 

•	 Clearly explain to residents what is acceptable and 
unacceptable. 

Here are a few examples of rules that are unreasonable: 2 

•	 Banning homeowners from putting a “for sale” sign 
on their own home. 

•	 Requiring homeowners to buy goods or services 
from a specific company. 

•	 Requiring homeowners to use a specific real estate 
broker to sell their home.

•	 Requiring more than one resident of a family home 
to be on the house’s title. 

Park Rules Cannot Limit Homeowners’ 
Legal Rights
Park rules cannot limit homeowners’ legal rights. Here are a 
few examples of rules that are not allowed: 

•	 Allowing a park owner to enter a homeowner’s house 
anytime.

•	 Allowing a park owner to increase rent more than 
twice a year.

•	 Limiting people’s peaceful, non-commercial freedom 
of expression in the park.

Park owners also must give all residents 60 days’ written 
notice before changing any park rules.

Homeowners Do Not Need 
to Follow a New Rule That 
Significantly Changes an Old Rule
Even if a new rule follows the law, Minnesota law 
says that homeowners who live at the park when the 
rule is changed do not need to follow the new rule 
if it significantly changes the old rule. For example, 
a homeowner who built a wooden garden shed that 
was allowed by the old rule does not have to tear it 
down because the new rule says residents cannot 
have wooden garden sheds. Because of this, there 
may be many sets of rules that apply to different 
homeowners, depending on what rules were in 
place when each homeowner moved to the park. 
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1 Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 8; 327C.02, subd. 2.
2 Minn. Stat. § 327C.05, subd. 1 and 2.



Even if a homeowner breaks a rule, a park owner must 
follow several steps before evicting them. 6

•	 The park owner must give the homeowner written 
notice of the rule violation.

•	 The written notice must give the date, approximate 
time, and nature of the rule violation.

•	 The park owner must give the homeowner 30 days 
to comply with the rule.

A homeowner who challenges a new rule in court as 
unreasonable or a significant change to an old rule and 
loses still cannot be immediately evicted.  The court must 
give them ten days to start following the new rule. If the 
homeowner starts following the new rule within those ten 
days, the eviction will be cancelled. The court may also 
make them pay the park owner’s court fees. 7

If your park owner has changed your park’s rules and you 
have a question about whether the new rules are legal you 
may wish to contact the following:

All Parks Alliance for Change 
2380 Wycliff Street, Suite 200 

Saint Paul, MN 55114 
(855) 361-2722 

hotline@allparksallianceforchange.org 
www.allparksallianceforchange.org

Housing Justice Center 
275 East 4th Street, Suite 590 

Saint Paul, MN 55101 
(612) 807-1139 

clients@hjcmn.org 
www.hjcmn.org

If you believe your park owner is not following Minnesota 
law, please report the issue to the Attorney General’s Office:

Office of Minnesota Attorney General 
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 1400 

St. Paul, MN 55101 
(651) 296-3353 (Twin Cities Calling Area) 
(800) 657-3787 (Outside the Twin Cities) 

(800) 627-3529 (Minnesota Relay) 
www.ag.state.mn.us/Office/Complaint.asp

A new rule significantly changes an old rule if it: 3  

•	 Significantly cuts or gets rid of a park owner’s 
responsibilities to care for the park or help out the 
residents.

•	 Significantly limits residents’ rights, privileges, or 
freedoms. 

•	 Requires homeowners to pay a significant new 
expense—by increasing their security deposit, for 
example.

Here are a few examples of rule changes that do  
significantly change the old rules, and homeowners would 
have to follow them: 4

•	 A reasonable rent increase—though park owners 
can only raise rent twice a year.

•	 A rule requiring all homeowners to keep their homes, 
sheds, and other property in good repair and in a 
safe condition.

•	 Any rule change required by the government.

Homeowners Have Protections 
against Being Evicted for Not 
Following Rules
A homeowner cannot be evicted for breaking 
an unreasonable or illegal rule, or for breaking a 
new rule that significantly changes an old rule 
that was in place when they first moved into the 
park.  If a park owner files an eviction lawsuit 
against a homeowner for breaking a rule like this, 
the homeowner can fight the eviction by telling 
the court the rule is unreasonable, illegal, or 
significantly changed an old rule that they are still 
following. 5 
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3  Minn. Stat. § 327C.01, subd. 11.
4  Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2.
5  Minn. Stat. § 327C.10, subd. 3.
6  Minn. Stat. § 327C.09, subd. 4.
7  Minn. Stat. § 327C.02, subd. 2a.


