Advisory Task Force on Worker Misclassification

“Misclassifying workers hurts not only those who are misclassified and their families, it hurts all Minnesotans, including businesses who do the right thing by their employees by playing by the rules, and every Minnesota taxpayer who has to make up the slack for law breaking employers,” Attorney General Ellison said.

“I’ve created this task force to gather the best thinking about the problem and make practical, workable recommendations to the Legislature, State agencies, other levels of government, industry, nonprofit organizations, and advocates about how we can put an end to the problem. It’s another way we can help create a more level playing field and a fairer economy, which helps all Minnesotans better afford their lives and live with dignity, safety, and respect.”  

Section I: Task Force Members

Task Force Co-Chairs

Co-Chairs: Representative Emma Greenman and Second Co-Chair to be Elected at First Meeting

Core Task Force Members:

  1. Rod Adams, Executive Director, The New Justice Project
  2. Commissioner Nicole Blissenbach, Commissioner, Department of Labor and Industry
  3. Octavio Chung Bustamante, Marketing Representative, LIUNA Minnesota and North Dakota
  4. Daniel Getschel, Director, Individual Income Taxes & Withholding, Department of Revenue
  5. Representative Emma Greenman, Member of the Minnesota House of Representatives
  6. Melissa Hysing, Legislative Director, MN AFL-CIO
  7. Burt Johnson, General Counsel, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
  8. Briana Kemp, Policy Lead, Centro de Trabajadores Unidos en la Lucha (CTUL)
  9. Amir Malik, Compliance Manager, City of Bloomington City Attorney’s Office
  10. Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten, Member of the Minnesota Senate
  11. Evan Rowe, Deputy Commissioner of Workforce Services and Operations, Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED)
  12. Aaron Sojourner, Senior Researcher, W. E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research
  13. Brittany VanDerBill, Owner, B. VanDerBill Consulting LLC
  14. Kim Vu-Dinh, Associate Professor, Mitchell Hamline School of Law
  15. Jonathan Weinhagen, President & CEO, Minneapolis Regional Chamber of Commerce

Ex Officio Members of the Task Force:

  1. Jonathan Moler, Assistant Attorney General, Minnesota Attorney General's Office
  2. Brian Elliott, Executive Director, SEIU State Council

Section II: Meetings and Events

Upcoming Meeting

Wednesday, October 25, 2023

Past Meetings

September 13, 2023

Section III: Resources

Task Force Materials


Section IV: Participate

Community input is an important part of this Task Force, we encourage members of the public interested in this work to sign up for updates and stay engaged with this work.

If you would like to participate, please email Carin Mrotz at

NOTICE: Task Force members and AGO staff will attend the meetings in person or via video conferencing or telephone. Under Minnesota Statutes section 13D.021, subdivision 3, if telephone or interactive technology is used to conduct a meeting the AGO shall allow a person to monitor the meeting electronically from a remote location. Public participants may monitor the meeting in person or via Zoom or by phone as stated above and may provide comments at the discretion of the co-chairs.

It is the policy of the Office of the Minnesota Attorney General to comply with the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C.A. Section 12101, et. seq. ("ADA"). The ADA provides, in part, that qualified individuals with disabilities shall not be excluded from participating in or be denied the benefits of any program, service or activity offered by the Office of the Minnesota Attorney General. If you require special accommodations to participate in the meeting, please email Carin Mrotz at prior to the meeting.